why is a raven like a writing desk?

Saw Alice in Wonderland yesterday – was it necessary to see it on opening day?  Probably not, but it was an enjoyable experience nonetheless.  Despite the few qualms I had (for example, why did the Knave of Hearts, Stayne, have an animated body?  Why the random snatches of humanity from the Red Queen?  Did the Mad Hatter really have to act that much like Jack Sparrow?) I thought it was overall quite good, mostly a result of the typical quirkiness expected from Tim Burton.

Of course Alice in Wonderland-inspired magazine layouts have been everywhere lately, but what about the actual costumes from the movie?  Colleen Atwood, 2-time Academy Award winner, designed these interesting pieces:

Alice’s first dress is pretty plain, but that’s acceptable, since she isn’t actually in Wonderland yet, I guess.

Her other outfits after the jump…

This dress magically appears out of nowhere after she shrinks too much to fit into her old, boring one.  I was a bit torn about this one – on one hand admiring the looseness of it, on the other finding the bulbosity of it all ridiculous.

The Mad Hatter whips this dress up in a matter of seconds after she shrinks even more.  Despite the simplicity of the design, I think this one is my favorite.

And of course she has to wear something red after infiltrating the Red Queen’s castle, so here it is.  A much different style from the other dresses, but there you have it.  An intriguing design, but I hate the stupid little hearts and there are too many ruffles…  After this, she had to wear the ugliest blue pajamas I have ever seen, and thankfully I couldn’t find a picture of them.  So on to the armor…

It’s armor – what do I say about it?

Her last ensemble is mostly hidden by her blue travelling jacket in the end, so I included a picture of her on set.  Charming.  I like the boots.

For those of you who plan to see the movie, I’ll include some parting words of wisdom to keep in mind:

`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe:
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.


“Beware the Jabberwock, my son!
The jaws that bite, the claws that catch!
Beware the Jubjub bird, and shun
The frumious Bandersnatch!”

He took his vorpal sword in hand:
Long time the manxome foe he sought —
So rested he by the Tumtum tree,
And stood awhile in thought.

And, as in uffish thought he stood,
The Jabberwock, with eyes of flame,
Came whiffling through the tulgey wood,
And burbled as it came!

One, two! One, two! And through and through
The vorpal blade went snicker-snack!
He left it dead, and with its head
He went galumphing back.

“And, has thou slain the Jabberwock?
Come to my arms, my beamish boy!
O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!’
He chortled in his joy.

`Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.

(From the poem “JABBERWOCKY” by Lewis Carrol, Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There, 1872)

(source: http://www.jabberwocky.com/carroll/jabber/jabberwocky.html)

One response to “why is a raven like a writing desk?

  1. I find this post quite intriguing and especially like how you focused on the fashion of Alice as not many reviewers have done that. How unique. I found myself drawn to the armor, the fact that it is tough looking yet feminine. I am particularly enthralled by the boot (?) part of the armor and also the shoulder pads and skirt type contraption. I am wondering how Mia Wasikowska pulled it all off. Overall this post was sleek and I am impressed you found so many of her outfits on the interwebs.

Leave a Reply

